Welcome to the Equality state!

" The Nursing Licensure Compact (NLC) is an agreement between states that allows nurses to have one license but the ability to practice in other states that are part of the agreement.

Originally developed in 2000, in 2024 the license had grown to include at least 25 states. To help streamline the process for nurses the Enhanced Nursing Licensure Compact (eNLC) was implemented in 2018 and included standards for licensure which the originally compact license was lacking.


Each state needs a competent medical workforce to meet the needs of it’s citizens. However, the requirements for some health care professions are not the same in each state. That is why it is important to find out what is required of you as a future or current registered nurse before moving across state lines. Contact information is located at the bottom of this page.


You can reach the page covering endorsements by hovering your mouse over the “apply” tab and clicking the “Registered Nurses” link from the drop down menu, or, you can simply click here to be directed to the page.

Near the top of the page, you should see a link to the application for endorsement.

In order to receive licensure by verification, you must:

You will have to undergo a background check. You will be sent a fingerprint card after the Board receives your application and fees. It is possible that the Board will send you a temporary license. It is non-renewable and expires in thirty days.

You will have to provide proof of hours practiced, continuing education, and specialty certification upon renewal as well. Renewals occur every even numbered year on the 31st of December.

Continuing Competency

If you are not a newly licensed RN, the Board will require you to either have worked at least 500 hours as an RN in the last two years or 1,600 hours within the last 5 years. They will also require proof that you have completed at least 20 hours of RN continuing education during the last two years. Finally, they will require proof of that you were certified in some area of specialty in the last five years. The certification must be nationally recognized.

If you are a newly licensed RN, you will need to provide proof that you have passed the NCLEX-RN within the last five years in lieu of experience and continuing education.

A link to nursing education programs can be found here.

A link to refresher courses can be found here.

A link to approved distance programs can be found here.

This state requires nurses to hold current ACLS certification.

Contact Information

Email questions for licensing to:



130 Hobbs Avenue, Suite B Cheyenne, Wyoming82002

Phone number: 307-777-7601


A link to the Wyoming State Board of Nursing’s frequently asked questions can be found here.

Edit this page.

Online ACLS Recertification in 2-5 hours

10% off with 2 courses, 15% off with 3

... see our other courses and group discounts