Welcome to the Lone Star state!

" The Nursing Licensure Compact (NLC) is an agreement between states that allows nurses to have one license but the ability to practice in other states that are part of the agreement.

Originally developed in 2000, in 2024 the license had grown to include at least 25 states. To help streamline the process for nurses the Enhanced Nursing Licensure Compact (eNLC) was implemented in 2018 and included standards for licensure which the originally compact license was lacking.


Each state needs a competent medical workforce to meet the needs of it’s citizens. However, the requirements for some health care professions are not the same in each state. That is why it is important to find out what is required of you as a future or current registered nurse before moving across state lines. Contact information is located at the bottom of this page.


Texas is a compact state. If you are moving to Texas or claiming it as your primary state of residence, you will need to apply for application by endorsement in order to use your license in Texas. General instructions are listed below.

You may renew your license online or by using the paper application for $60. Renewals take place every two years.

You must complete 20 hours of continuing education to renew your license. Click here for more information on continuing education.

This state requires nurses to hold current ACLS certification.

Contact Information

Texas Board of Nursing

333 Guadalupe, Suite 3-460 Austin, TX 78701

Phone number: 512.305.7400

Fax number: 512.305.7401


Click here for endorsement FAQs.

Click here for continuing competency FAQs.

Edit this page.

Online ACLS Recertification in 2-5 hours

10% off with 2 courses, 15% off with 3

... see our other courses and group discounts