Welcome to the Volunteer state!

" The Nursing Licensure Compact (NLC) is an agreement between states that allows nurses to have one license but the ability to practice in other states that are part of the agreement.

Originally developed in 2000, in 2024 the license had grown to include at least 25 states. To help streamline the process for nurses the Enhanced Nursing Licensure Compact (eNLC) was implemented in 2018 and included standards for licensure which the originally compact license was lacking.


Each state needs a competent medical workforce to meet the needs of it’s citizens. However, the requirements for some health care professions are not the same in each state. That is why it is important to find out what is required of you as a future or current registered nurse before moving across state lines. Contact information is located at the bottom of this page.


Tennessee is a compact state. If you are moving to Tennessee or claiming it as your primary state of residence, you will need to apply for application by endorsement in order to use your license in Tennessee. General instructions are listed below.

Licences must be renewed every two years. You can do it online through here. Cost of renewal is $100.

Foreign educated nurses must provide a Professional Report from the Commission on Graduates of Foreign Nursing School (CGFNS) or an official school transcript.

Continuing Competency

Click here for details on continuing competency.

This state requires nurses to hold current ACLS certification.

Contact Information

Tennessee Board of Nursing web address


665 Mainstream Drive Nashville, TN 37243

Phone number: 615.532.5166

Fax number:615.741.7899

Edit this page.

Online ACLS Recertification in 2-5 hours

10% off with 2 courses, 15% off with 3

... see our other courses and group discounts