Welcome to the Buckeye state!
Each state needs a competent medical workforce to meet the needs of it's citizens. However, the requirements for some health care professions are not the same in each state. That is why it is important to find out what is required of you as a future or current registered nurse before moving across state lines. Contact information is located at the bottom of this page.
Application fee ($75)
As of July 1, 2016 all applications are to be completed online through the State of Ohio eLicense system.
A representative informed me that it may be easier to get your background check done in Ohio. Verification of license via paper request or via Nursys.
Proof of English proficiency if you were educated abroad and a CGFNS Professional Report
Two contact hours regarding Category A, Ohio Law and Rules
For more information and to view the application, click here and scroll down to endorsement applicants.
RN renewal takes place every two years during odd numbered years.License expiration dates have recently changed to October 31 due to a change in Ohio state law.
You will need to complete at least 24 contact hours and at least one must be from Category A. If your endorsement will cause you to have less than 12 months of practice by the time of your renewal, you will only need 12 contact hours.
Business hours are 8 a.m. 5 p.m.
17 South High Street, Suite 400
Phone number: 614-466-3947
Press one for New and Existing Nurse Licensing, then press two for endorsements, then two to speak with a representative. More than likely though, you will be directed to voice mail.
You may also press four to reach a receptionist from the main menu as well.