Welcome to the Pine Tree state!

" The Nursing Licensure Compact (NLC) is an agreement between states that allows nurses to have one license but the ability to practice in other states that are part of the agreement.

Originally developed in 2000, in 2024 the license had grown to include at least 25 states. To help streamline the process for nurses the Enhanced Nursing Licensure Compact (eNLC) was implemented in 2018 and included standards for licensure which the originally compact license was lacking.

Each state needs a competent medical workforce to meet the needs of it’s citizens. However, the requirements for some health care professions are not the same in each state. That is why it is important to find out what is required of you as a future or current registered nurse before moving across state lines. Contact information is located at the bottom of this page.


Maine is a compact state. If you are moving to Maine or claiming it as your primary state of residence, you will need to apply for application by endorsement in order to use your license in Maine. General instructions are listed below.

Click hereto see the Maine Licensure by Endorsement page.

Your initial Maine license will be valid for at least one year.

Subsequent renewals take place every two years. You may renew online for $75.

Licensing FAQ

Web address:

Continuing Competency

There are no Continuing Education requirements for the state of Maine.

Foreign educated nurses must provide an original source transcript only upon request after review of the application.

Contact the Board for criminal background check information.

This state requires nurses to hold current ACLS certification.

Contact Information

Web address:


Maine State Board of Nursing 161 Capitol St. Augusta, Maine , 04333-0158

Phone: (207) 287-1133

Fax: (207) 287-1149

Hours are 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Edit this page.

Online ACLS Recertification in 2-5 hours

10% off with 2 courses, 15% off with 3

... see our other courses and group discounts