Welcome to the Sunshine state!
" The Nursing Licensure Compact (NLC) is an agreement between states that allows nurses to have one license but the ability to practice in other states that are part of the agreement.
Originally developed in 2000, by 2015 the license had grown to include 25 states. To help streamline the process for nurses the Enhanced Nursing Licensure Compact (eNLC) was implemented in 2018 and included standards for licensure which the originally compact license was lacking.
Each state needs a competent medical workforce to meet the needs of it’s citizens. However, the requirements for some health care professions are not the same in each state. That is why it is important to find out what is required of you as a future or current registered nurse before moving across state lines. Contact information is located at the bottom of this page.
Do you currently hold an active license in another state? Have recently passed the NCLEX or State Board Test Pool Examination? Or, have practiced in the US (including territories and jurisdictions) for two of the last three years without any action being taken against your license? If you answered yes to any of these questions, you may be eligible for endorsement.
You will need to submit your endorsement application with fees. A $110 application fee will be required. Fees for fingerprints and license verification vary from one provider to the next. A Livescan service provider must take your fingerprints as well. Livescan electronic fingerprinting is required for all initial licensure. You will need to download and print the Nursing Electronic Fingerprint Form The Board will require verification of licensure from your original state of licensure. You will need to verify your current active license with your current state as well. Copies of licenses will not be accepted. Click herefor endorsement tips from Florida’s Nursing Board.
Verification can be obtained through Nursys - link: https://www.nursys.com/ or if your state does not participate in the Nursys system you can download and print a Florida Board of Nursing License Verification Form.
Renewals are handled in three groups. Group 1 - current license will expire at midnight, Eastern Standard Time, April 30, 2016. Group 2 - current license will expire at midnight, Eastern Standard Time, July 31,
You may renew online or by mail. You will not have to submit any continuing competency documents unless you are audited. The Florida Board’s website recommends you hold on to these documents for at least four years.
Renewal cost is $80
Click herefor more details.
You will be required to take 24 hours of continuing education every two years. You must complete a one time HIV/AIDS course before your first renewal. Afterward, your 24 hours must include the following
Prevention of Medical Errors - Two hours (this course is no longer required for new licensure, but it is required for renewal.)
Laws and Rules that govern the practice of Nursing - Two hours
Two hours of domestic violence will be required every third renewal; so, you will have 26 hours of continuing education during those renewal periods.
Visit www.cebroker.com for a list of approved continuing education providers.
For more details, click on the continuing education link in the FAQ section of this page or call the Board directly. The Boards contact information is located near the bottom of this page.
The Department of Health, Division of Medical Quality Assurance will review your continuing education records in the electronic tracking system at the time of renewal. The tracking system is powered by CEBroker.
You may convert college courses to CE hours. One credit hour per quarter converts to 10 contact hours. One credit hour per semester converts to 15 contact hours. To receive continuing education credit, retain transcripts for four years in case you are audited.
4042 Bald Cypress Way, Room 120 Tallahassee, FL 32399 Mail Correspondence 4052 Bald Cypress Way, BIN C02 Tallahassee, FL 32399-3252
Phone Number: 1.850.245.4125
The following options may be useful:
Renewals or continuing education press three
Online renewal press 1
Mail renewal press 2
Continuing education 3
Becoming licensed, requesting an application, or for application status press four
Customer Contact Center
8 a.m. to 6 p.m. ET
8 a.m. to 5 p.m. ET
Fax: (850) 617-6460
Edit this page.